My IDSA Contact Us
IDSA NewsPrint-Friendly Newsletter
Forward to a Friend
Search Back Issues
Education & Training Resources Practice Guidelines Journals & Publications Policy & Advocacy Meetings About IDSA
July/August 2010
Your Colleagues
Vote for the IDSA and HIVMA Boards of Directors
Election Ballots Due Sept. 15

IDSA and HIV Medicine Association (HIVMA) members will elect new officers and Board members this summer. You will soon receive a ballot including biographical statements and personal sketches from each of the candidates. The IDSA slate is as follows:

Vice President:

  • Stephen B. Calderwood, MD, FIDSA
    Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases, Massachusetts General Hospital; Morton N. Swartz, MD, Academy Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
  • David A. Relman, MD, FIDSA
    Thomas C. and Joan M. Merigan Professor, Departments of Medicine (Infectious Diseases and Geographic Medicine), and of Microbiology and Immunology, Stanford University; Chief, Infectious Diseases Section, Veterans Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System, Palo Alto, CA


  • Kathryn M. Edwards, MD, FIDSA
    Sarah H. Sell Professor of Pediatrics, Director of the Vanderbilt Vaccine Research Program, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Infectious Diseases, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Nashville, TN
  • Sandra A. Kemmerly, MD, FIDSA
    Associate Chair, Department of Infectious Diseases, Ochsner Medical Center; Medical Director, Clinical Practice Improvement (Quality and Safety) Ochsner Health System;  Medical Director, Mid Level Providers (CRNAs, NNPs, NPs, PAs), Ochsner Health System; Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine, Louisiana State University School of Medicine

Director Slot 1:

  • Paul G. Auwaerter, MD, FIDSA
    Clinical Director, Division of Infectious Diseases, Associate Professor of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Attending Physician, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Rafael E. Campo, MD, FIDSA
    Professor of Clinical Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine; Medical Director, Infection Control and Employee Health Program, University of Miami Health System; Attending Physician, Jackson Memorial Hospital and University of Miami Hospital

Director Slot 2:

  • Patrick P. Joseph, MD, FIDSA
    Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco; Chief, Infectious Diseases, Hill Physicians Medical Group IPA; Laboratory Director, Monogram Biosciences / Virologic, Genomic Health Inc., and Siemens Clinical Reference Laboratory; Medical Director, International Travelers Medical Clinic; Chief of Epidemiology, San Ramon Medical Center
  • Michael L. Butera, MD
    Founding Partner, Pulmonary Medicine and Infectious Disease Medical Group, San Diego, CA; Active Medical Staff Infectious Diseases Consulting Physician, Sharp Grossmont Hospital, Scripps Mercy Hospital, Alvarado Hospital, Promise Hospital; Governing Board Member, Alvarado Hospital

The HIVMA slate is as follows:

Vice Chair:

  • Michael A. Horberg, MD, MAS
    Director HIV/AIDS, Kaiser Permanente; HIV Specialist and Internal Medicine, Kaiser Permanente Hospital, Santa Clara, CA;  Assistant Clinical Professor, Stanford University Medical School
  • S. Bruce Williams, MD, FIDSA
    Professor, Departments of Internal Medicine/Division of Infectious Diseases and Family and Community Medicine, University of New Mexico; Medical Director, Truman Street Health Services Clinic (Ryan White-funded HIV Clinic)

Infectious Diseases Slot

  • Edwin De Jesus, MD
    Medical Director, Orlando Immunology Center (OIC), Orlando, FL
  • Barry S. Zingman, MD
    Medical Director, AIDS Center; Clinical Director, Infectious Diseases, Montefiore Medical Center, Bronx, NY; Professor of Clinical Medicine, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY

Internal Medicine Slot 1

  • D.T. Jayaweera, MD
    Professor of Clinical Medicine, University of Miami
  • Theresa A. Mack, MD
    Instructor in Medicine, Columbia University, College of Physicians and Surgeons; Associate Attending of Medicine, St. Luke’s-Roosevelt Hospital; Associate Medical Director, Morningside Clinic, St. Luke’s-Roosevelt Hospital

Internal Medicine Slot 2

  • Howard Libman, MD
    Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Director, HIV Program, Healthcare Associates, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston
  • Richard D. Moore, MD, MHS, FIDSA
    Professor of  Medicine, Department of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University; Director, Johns Hopkins Hospital HIV Clinic (Moore Clinic); Director, Johns Hopkins HIV Outcomes Research Program

Non-Designated Slot

  • Anthony M. Mills, MD
    Medical Director, Anthony Mills MD Inc., (private general practice and clinical research), Los Angeles, CA; Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine, Department of Medicine, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Alice K. Pau, PharmD
    Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Staff Scientist (Clinical), National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Intramural Program, National Institutes of Health (NIH)

HIVMA Representative to IDSA Board:

  • Carlos del Rio, MD, FIDSA
    Professor and Chair, Hubert Department of Global Health, Rollins School of Public Health of Emory University; Professor of Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA
  • Rochelle Walensky, MD, FIDSA
    Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Associate Director, Program in Epidemiology and Outcomes Research, Harvard Center for AIDS Research; Divisions of Infectious Disease, Massachusetts General Hospital and Brigham and Women’s Hospital

The deadline for casting your ballot is Sept 15.

Voting is easy and important for setting the priorities and future direction of your Society. You will soon receive an electronic ballot by e-mail if you are eligible to vote and have e-mail addresses on file. Check your e-mail inbox for a message from IDSA President Richard Whitley, MD, FIDSA, and HIVMA Chair Michael Saag, MD, FIDSA, with a subject line, “2010 IDSA and HIVMA Elections.” Paper ballots will be mailed to all members who are eligible to vote but do not have e-mail addresses on file. Members who do not receive their ballots by e-mail or mail, or who lose their ballots, may call the help desk at Election Services at 1-800-720-4357.

In response to growing interest from members in the Society’s election process, the IDSA Board of Directors also recently approved campaign guidelines, which will be included in the background materials sent with the ballots.
How useful is this article?

< Previous Article | Next Article >

Post a comment

Your name:

Your comment:

Patient Care and Science
EIN Update: When to Stop Inpatient Antibiotic Treatment
Drug Approvals, Recalls, Adverse Events Update
Clinical Practice Management
Health Reform Law Brings Possible Medicare Payment Changes
Global ID
Five Lessons from the International AIDS Conference
HIVMA and NIH Selected as Local Scientific Partners for AIDS 2012
Policy and Advocacy
National HIV/AIDS Strategy Released
FDA, NIAID, and IDSA Hold Antibacterial Resistance Workshop
Hearing Highlights Need to Curb Antibiotic Use on the Farm
IDSA Urges CDC to Support Mandatory Influenza Vaccination for HCWs
Supreme Court to Hear Vaccine Compensation Case
Your Colleagues
Vote for the IDSA and HIVMA Boards of Directors
Congratulations, New IDSA Fellows!
Welcome, New Members!
Education & Resources
Redesigned ID/HIV Career Center Offers New Features
IAC Offers Adult Immunization Screening Tool
Top Stories
From the President: Preparing for Influenza
HHS Announces Final Rules on ‘Meaningful Use’ of Electronic Health Records
IDSA Journal Club

IDSA | 1300 Wilson Blvd., Suite 300 | Arlington, VA 22209 | Phone: (703) 299-0200
To ensure delivery, please add '' to your email address book or Safe Sender List.
If you are still having problems receiving our communications,
see our white-listing page for more details.